Insurance Continuing Education Online
Life & Health or Property & Casualty
Florida law states that a person who has held a license less than 6 years can take CE in any level (basic, intermediate, advanced), whereas a person who has been licensed for 6 or more years must complete their entire CE in intermediate or advanced courses.
All of Cape’s courses are intermediate level courses.
The courses have been designated by the Florida Department of Financial Services as INTERMEDIATE level. They are intended for the student who has a basic knowledge with the subject matter or who has limited experience with the subject matter.
If this is your first time accessing our interactive online courses, please take a moment to view a sample course to ensure your computer will display the course material properly. View Sample Course
Online Interactive self-study courses have no monitor requirement. Independent self-study online or written course exams do not require a monitor, however a sworn acknowledgement must be signed by the student and another person stating that the student did not receive any outside help or consult written material while completing the examination. If the student is an employee of an agency or corporate entity, the students MUST obtain the signature of the student's supervisor, manager or owner of the agency or corporate entity. If the student is self-employed, a sole proprietor, or a partner the student MUST obtain the signature of a Disinterested Third Party; the Disinterested Third Party can be any impartial person who is not concerned with the result of the examination or the success of the student. The Disinterested Third Party cannot be related (by family) to the student. (Examples are: Teachers, Librarians, Church Leaders, Neighbors, etc.)
• Life/Health, General Lines (P&C) and Personal lines agents must complete 24 hours of CE biennially for the first six years of licensure. Hours must be completed in basic or higher level courses.
• Life/Health, General Lines (P&C) and Personal lines agents licensed 6 years or more must complete 20 hours of intermediate or advanced level courses biennially.
• Adjusters are required to complete 24 hours biennially.
• Workers Compensation adjusters are required to complete 24 hours biennially.
• Customer representatives must complete 10 hours biennially.
• Limited customer representatives, administrative agents, solicitors, or industrial fire and burglary agents who are not dually licensed as LH agents must complete 10 hours biennially
• Title license holders (resident and non-resident) must complete 10 hours of credit biennially.
• Agents licensed for 25 years or more, who are also CLUs or CPCUs or who have a B.S. degree in risk management or insurance with 18 or more semester hours in upper-level insurance-related courses must complete 12 hours biennially
• Individuals with a limited lines license that does not have an examination requirement.
• Individuals with any of the following licenses: dental representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown agent and crop hail and multiple peril crop agents
Cape reports credits to the Florida Insurance Department within 14 days of course completion. A course completion certificate is provided for the agent’s records.