|Insurance Pre-licensing Online - Life & Health or Property & Casualty
The license exam is one of the requirements you will need to fulfill in order to become licensed as an insurance producer. To obtain a license to transact Life or Accident and Health insurance, you must pass an entry-level exam for the appropriate line of authority. The purpose of the examination is to test your knowledge of the general insurance concepts, insurance policies, provisions, and major tax considerations. You are also required to demonstrate your knowledge and understanding of State-specific laws and regulations regarding your role as a producer, as well as federal regulations that pertain to insurance transactions and dealings with the public. All exams are multiple-choice; however, the number of questions, time limits and passing scores vary by state.
The Exam Simulator PASS Package (a complete study set including an online study guide) will teach you everything you need to know to pass your test. If you use this package as directed, you'll pass your actual exam on the first try
• Courses must be approved for the line of authority held by the licensee. Agents who hold both Life/Health and General Lines (P&C) must take ½ of their required hours in life/health and the other half in general lines.
• All Life/Health, General Lines (P&C) and Personal lines agents must complete 3 hours in ethics as part of their biennial requirement.
• Any person who holds a license to solicit or sell life insurance in Florida must complete a minimum of 3 hours approved by the department on the subject of suitability in annuity and life insurance transactions.
• All licensees who sell flood insurance must meet the minimum training requirements established by FEMA – a one time 3 hour training course
• Every licensed general lines (P&C) and customer representative must complete, as part of their overall biennial CE requirement, a one hour continuing education course on the subject of premium discounts available on property insurance policies. The premium discounts are based on various hurricane mitigation options.
• All health agents must complete 8 hours of initial long term care insurance training, 2 hours of the initial 8 must be in Florida specific Long Term Care Partnership training and agents must complete 4 hours of additional training in long term care each biennial period thereafter.
• Adjusters must complete 2 hours of ethics, 10 hours of law and 12 hours of optional topics.
• Worker’s Compensation Adjusters must complete 2 hours of ethics, 10 hours of workers compensation law and policy and 12 hours in any workers compensation subjects.
Online Interactive self-study courses have no monitor requirement. Independent self-study online or written course exams do not require a monitor, however a sworn acknowledgement must be signed by the student and another person stating that the student did not receive any outside help or consult written material while completing the examination. If the student is an employee of an agency or corporate entity, the students MUST obtain the signature of the student's supervisor, manager or owner of the agency or corporate entity. If the student is self-employed, a sole proprietor, or a partner the student MUST obtain the signature of a Disinterested Third Party; the Disinterested Third Party can be any impartial person who is not concerned with the result of the examination or the success of the student. The Disinterested Third Party cannot be related (by family) to the student. (Examples are: Teachers, Librarians, Church Leaders, Neighbors, etc.)
• Individuals with a limited lines license that does not have an examination requirement.
• Individuals with any of the following licenses: dental representative, motor vehicle physical damage and mechanical breakdown agent and crop hail and multiple peril crop agents