|Important Updates for Real Estate Education Providers
The Florida Real Estate Commission amended Rule 61J2 - 3.009(2), Florida Administrative Code, to change the continuing educational requirements for renewal, to require 14 hours of continuing education consisting of 3 hours of Core Law, 3 hours of Ethics and Business Practices and 8 hours of specialty education. In order to provide licensees with sufficient notice, this change will be mandatory for real estate licensees who hold a license that expires on September 30, 2018, or thereafter.
Any ethics courses that were approved prior to November 2016 will not count towards the new Ethics and Business Practices requirements. They will count only toward specialty education. If you wish to have your ethics course considered by the Commission for 3 hours of Ethics and Business Practices and 3 hours of specialty education, please submit a new course package using the new forms DBPR RE 18 or DBPR RE 19, with all required course materials for consideration.
The forms can be found on the “Forms and Publications” link of the Division Real Estate’s webpage. For your convenience, you can also click on the following link which will take you to that page: http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/re/forms.html
Additionally, House Bill 927 was signed into law by the Governor and will become effective October 1, 2017. This bill makes a number of changes to Chapter 475, Florida Statutes.
Specifically, this bill makes minor changes to s.475.451, F.S., regarding distance learning courses and repeals s.475.6175, F.S., relating to the post-licensing requirement of registered trainee appraisers.
Rule 61J1-4.009, F.A.C., Post-Licensing Education for Registered Trainee Appraisers, is also being repealed.
Registered Trainee Appraisers will only need to complete 30 hours of continuing education consisting of 3 hours of Florida Laws and Rules, 7 hour National USPAP update and 20 hours of specialty education every renewal cycle. Registered trainee appraisers will not be required to complete any post-licensing education.
Courses currently approved as post licensing education can also be simultaneously approved for specialty education. Please check your course and re-submit for approval, if the course is not already approved for specialty education.